Independence Day – ‘Thank you God’

Fire up the grill, toss on some burgers, and have a drink–beer, soda, punch? I’m taking this time to honestly reflect on my personal triumphs and shortcomings as an American citizen. I usually do this with all the major holidays, because the special days mark a ‘pause’ in the hustle in bustle of day-to-day activities. So as I sit here pounding away at my keyboard, and keying in this stream of conscience–I can only smile at where I am today. Generally speaking, it’s rare that ANY of us can say that we’re right where we need to be–but I can say that I’m on track to where I wanna end up. My goals are still visible, and God is still granting me his grace and guidance–so I know I’ll get there eventually.

A lot has happened over the past year or so. I’ve been hired, and fired twice. I met the love of my life and best friend I could ever hope to have. And I also found new purpose for the online radio network I run. I’ve been incredibly blessed to have made some of the friends I have today, and it all seemed to have come to fruition around the time I stopped feeling sorry for myself and reached out. And so for that, I can only thank God–my Lord and savior for without him, none of this would be possible.

With that being said, I can’t really talk about the way this world (and more specifically) this country is shaping up over the last 5-7 years. This isn’t a ‘BASH OBAMA’ rant, but more of a look at how political correctness tends to be a very sharp, double-edged sword. On the one hand, I wholeheartedly support equal rights for all men and women. I’d like to think that the majority of you reading this do too, but there’s one big caveat that seems to really stick in my craw:

Someone being granted equal rights a the expense of someone else

I feel like going into detail about that now would require  another blog post altogether, but it’s really something I’ve begin to notice. Also, the idea that America can simultaneously become so tolerant but also intolerant of a number of different issues just boggles my mind. So much does it boggle my mind, that I started to make the semi-joke that I was probably going to move out the country in 10-15 years. Where would I go? Probably South Korea. Maybe Japan? I dunno, but there are times when I read the paper (online or traditionally) and I just shake my head at what America is slowly forming into. Don’t get me wrong, I love living here and I understand this is probably as ‘free’ as it gets in terms of pursuing the things you want to do–generally speaking. Me being a black man limits it to a certain extent. Me being a Christian does too. Me being #teamnatural doesn’t, but that’s not the point (LOL)–there are many ‘small’ factors that limit the ‘freedoms’ we’re all supposedly granted. Which is why whenever July 4th rolls around, I like to  spend that time thanking our forefathers for paving the way for us as a country. I also thank God for my family and friends. However, if you asked me how I felt about America’s future, don’t be surprised if I express some sort of concern with how things are going for the home team.

Now, are you gonna finish that burger? Or do I need to go ahead and grab my own? I HATE wasting food!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

