Supercop (1992) (Review #100)

supercop

 

Words: Desmond Childs

I think the rule of thumb in movies centered around ‘heroes’ or ‘super-powered’ beings is that when they are introduced, we can safely assume they are the best at what they do. Right? So whether that’s to protect and serve, get the girl, or simply rescuing that darn cat from a tree–the hero’s probably the most qualified for the job. Probably. So can a Hong Kong detective built with equal parts (protect and serve) take down a Chinese drug king? Well, if that detective happens to be Jackie Chan…

Inspector Chan is the best. A flawless record of outstanding performance in the line of duty. I’m sure he’s earned countless medals, honors, commendations, etc. from tireless, noble effort fighting crime. With that being said, this detective is Jackie Chan. Wait what? Oh stop it, you knew this was our 100th review for the blog! You knew I was gonna review a  Jackie Chan-vehicle! He’s in the freaking blog logo for Pete’s sake! Anyway, this detective has the distinct advantage of being Jackie Chan. Sooo…yeah…

The movie (so I can get this out of the way) follows Chan as he infiltrates a drug gang through prison and goes on this movie-long undercover operation. Joining him is oh, I dunno–THE DIRECTOR OF INTERPOL!? Whaaaat? I know right? Why would the director, herself, feel the need to tackle this mission? I mean, transporting drugs around the world, by stuffing them into dead bodies is pretty henious–but…she’s the Director of Interpol! Like, I don’t think that can be stressed enough. Did she really think no one else was qualified to take on a mission of this caliber? Although…the director of Interpol does have the distinct advantage of working alongside Jackie Chan–she also has the ace-up-her sleeve to-go along with it. She’s Michelle Yeoh, who many have referred to as ‘the female Jackie Chan’, which is sort of a back handed compliment. Because on one hand, you’re entertaining enough to remind people of someone like Jackie, but their not really giving you due credit for being THE Michelle Yeoh. At any rate, they are both in their prime, and mesmerizing to watch here. I like to picture this film as a straightaway–the heroes are the Bugatti Veyron speeding toward the end, with buildings, bridges, and even people exploding around them. The car does flips, kicks other cars in the FACE!, and eventually runs through this ramp and goes flying into the clear, blue sky. The movie sorta ends on this metaphorical high, when Chan and Yeoh get their guy, and the credits roll. We’re then treated to the classic cuts of Chan performing his many stunts from the movie. It may not seem like much to you the reader, but it’s actually the movie that sparked my admiration for Jackie Chan and his craft. I also got to see a documentary later about him, in which he sorta speaks on his wanting to be known as much for his directorial skills as his stunts. Love that guy!

I’m trying to verbalize how much this blog means to me, and how much movies mean to me. The blog’s name points to how I feel about directors, writers, and the actors in these films–how much work they put into these projects (no matter how bad some end up being). To take a dream or vision, and then craft a story that best captures that dream or vision, is a skill I just highly respect. It ain’t easy, folks. For actors to emote in such a way that draws out an emotional reaction from me watching–just impresses and intrigues me. I don’t really think some people understand how hard it is to make something that truly means something to you, but also be a product that effectively entertains the masses. While a lot of the movies I’ve reviewed aren’t for everyone, I really want to thank you the reader for accompanying on this 4-year long journey. It’s not over yet, but the number one goal has been accomplished. I invite all 600+ subscribers to continue this journey with me through the world of Asian cinema–and I promise I’ll work harder on pronouncing some of these names  ^_ ^

As usual, otakastradio@gmail.com if you wanna send me questions, comments, or concerns for the mental health of the host. And I’m on Twitter, @svmovieblog.

Don’t forget to support the OtaKast Network by listening to shows like Bobbo’s Block, NexusGen Radio, Wiseguy Jukebox, and of course the radio drama network Project Zion Studios!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

